Faculty

One of the greatest assets of Cincinnati Christian University is our faculty who encourage and empower our students to achieve academic success.

Undergraduate Division

Bill Baumgardner, Associate Professor of Christian Ministries (2005), BRE, Great Lakes Christian College; MMin, Kentucky Christian University; MDiv, Cincinnati Christian University. bill.baumgardner@CCUniversity.edu

Sandra L. Beam, Assistant Professor of Education (2008), BS, Cincinnati Christian University; MEd, Xavier University. sandra.beam@CCUniversity.edu

Rick Bullard, Instructor, BA, MA, Cincinnati Christian University; MS, PhD candidate, University of Cincinnati. rick.bullard@CCUniversity.edu

Aaron Burgess, Assistant Professor, Business and Leadership (2007), BA, MA, Cincinnati Christian University; MS, College of Mount St. Joseph, Northern Kentucky University. EdD, Northeastern University. aaron.burgess@CCUniversity.edu

Richard J. Cherok, Professor of Church History (1998), BA, BTh, Kentucky Christian University; MA, MEd, the University of Akron; PhD, Kent State University. rick.cherok@CCUniversity.edu

Danny Ciamarra, Assistant Professor, School of Education (2013); BS, Northern Kentucky University; MEd, Xavier University; PhD, Miami University. danny.ciamarra@CCUniversity.edu

Brian Derico, Assistant Professor of English (1999), BS, Cincinnati Christian University; MA, University of Cincinnati; PhD work, Ball State University. brian.derico@CCUniversity.edu

Daniel J. Dyke, Professor of Old Testament (1988), Youngstown State University; BA, Kentucky Christian University; Cincinnati Christian University; MDiv, Ashland Theological Seminary; Lancaster Theological Seminary; ThM, Princeton theological Seminary; the Ecumenical institute of Theology, St. Mary’s Seminary and University. dan.dyke@CCUniversity.edu

John W. Edmerson, Associate Professor of Christian Ministries (2005), BA, University of Science and Arts of OK; MEd, California State University Dominguez Hills; DMin, United Theological Seminary. john.edmerson@CCUniversity.edu

Paul D. Friskney, Associate Professor of English and Communication Arts (1984), BA, MA, Cincinnati Christian University; MA, University of Louisville; doctorate work, University of Cincinnati. paul.friskney@CCUniversity.edu

Sara Fudge, Professor of Hebrew and History (1997), BA, MA, Cincinnati Christian University; MPhil, PhD, Hebrew Union College Jewish Institute of Religion. sara.fudge@CCUniversity.edu

Gary J. Gregory, Professor of Music and Worship (1988), Rend Lake Community College; Milligan College; Southern illinois University; BME, Murray State University; MM, Eastman School of Music (University of Rochester); Cincinnati Christian University; DWS, The Robert E. Webber institute for Worship Studies. gary.gregory@CCUniversity.edu

R. Jay Kidwell, Professor of Psychology (1988), Cincinnati Christian University; BA, northern Kentucky University; MA, University of Cincinnati; PhD, Union institute & University. jay.kidwell@CCUniversity.edu

Brenda J. Lang, Professor of Music and Worship (1987), BA, Lincoln Christian College; MM, University of Missouri; Chatauqua School of Music; DMA work, College-Conservatory of Music, University of Cincinnati. brenda.lang@CCUniversity.edu

David Ray, Professor of Practical Ministries (2010), BA, Johnson Bible College; MDiv, Emmanuel Christian Seminary, DMin, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. david.ray@CCUniversity.edu

Kenneth E. Read, Professor of Music and Worship (1988), BM, College-Conservatory of Music, University of Cincinnati; MA, MMin, Cincinnati Christian University; MM, Miami University; DMA, University of Kentucky. ken.read@CCUniversity.edu

Douglas W. Redford, Professor of Old Testament (2000), BA, Kentucky Christian University; MA, MDiv, Cincinnati Christian University; thM, Grace theological Seminary; MPhil, PhD, Hebrew Union College-Jewish institute of Religion. doug.redford@CCUniversity.edu

James A. Smith, Professor of Biblical Studies (1998), BA, MA, Cincinnati Christian University; PhD, University of Sheffield. james.smith@CCUniversity.edu

James A. Snyder, Associate Professor of Theology (2001), BS, MA, MDiv, Cincinnati Christian University; ThM, Westminster Theological Seminary. james.snyder@CCUniversity.edu

Evelyn J. Taylor, Associate Professor of English and Education (1979), Executive Secretarial Certificate, Miller-Draughon Business College; BS, Cincinnati Christian University; graduate work, University of Cincinnati; MEd, Xavier University. evelyn.taylor@CCUniversity.edu

Nicholas A. Tomeo, Associate Professor of Youth Ministry and General Studies (2001), BA, Cincinnati Christian University; MS, Purdue University. nick.tomeo@CCUniversity.edu

Graduate Division

Timothy L. Barber, Associate Professor of Counseling (2004). BA, Trevecca Nazarene University; MDiv, Nazarene Theological Seminary; MAC, Cincinnati Christian University; DMin, Asbury Theological Seminary. tim.barber@CCUniversity.edu

David R. Brown, Assistant Professor of Counseling (2008). AS, Purdue University; BA, Hanover College; MAC, Cincinnati Christian University; PhD, Auburn University. david.brown@CCUniversity.edu

Jack W. Cottrell, Professor of Theology (1967). BA, ThB, Cincinnati Christian University; BA, University of Cincinnati; MDiv, Westminster Theological Seminary; PhD, Princeton Theological Seminary. jack.cottrell@CCUniversity.edu

Jodie K. Edwards, Assistant Professor of Counseling (2007). BS, Purdue University; MAC, Cincinnati Christian University; PhD, Purdue University. jodie.edwards@CCUniversity.edu

James B. North, Retired Professor of Church History (1977). BA, MA, Lincoln Christian College and Seminary; MA, University of Chicago; PhD, University of Illinois. jim.north@CCUniversity.edu

Johnny G. Pressley, Professor of Theology (1990) and Academic Dean of the Seminary (2009). BA, Roanoke Bible College; MDiv, Cincinnati Christian University; ThM, Princeton Theological Seminary; PhD, Westminster Theological Seminary. johnny.pressley@CCUniversity.edu

W. David Roadcup, Associate Professor of Practical Ministries (2003). BA, Lincoln Christian College; MA, Cincinnati Christian University; DMin, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School. david.roadcup@CCUniversity.edu

+Mike Shannon, Professor of Preaching (1988). BA, Milligan College; MMin, Kentucky Christian College; MDiv, Cincinnati Christian University; DMin, Reformed Theological Seminary. mike.shannon@CCUniversity.edu

+Thomas W. Thatcher, Professor of New Testament (1992). BA, MA, MDiv, Cincinnati Christian University; PhD, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary (Louisville); University of Cincinnati. tom.thatcher@CCUniversity.edu

+Mark S. Ziese, Professor of Old Testament (1991). BA, Ozark Christian College; MA, Cincinnati Christian University; MA, Hebrew Union College; PhD, Andrews University. mark.ziese@CCUniversity.edu

+Shares teaching load in both the Undergraduate and Graduate Division.